RSS Feed

Wednesday Favorites

There are a lot of products and food items that I find myself always using or eating that I just cannot get enough of. Many of them just make my life easier or fill a specific need that I cannot find better through anything else.

Trader Joe’s Gluten Free Oats

Cheapest and yummiest GF oats around

These oats are available at Trader Joe’s stores for only $3.99/bag. That is a STEAL for gluten free oats and they are amazing, only problem is there is not a Trader Joe’s anywhere near me in Texas… I stock up as much as the 50 lb luggage rule will allow everytime I go home!

Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Oats

More expensive option but can be bought in about any store and also in bulk through Amazon.com

These oats do not seem as fluffy as the Trader Joe’s, but I have found them in Wal-Mart, Kroger, Sun Harvest, Market Street and various other stores. They are almost double the price of Trader Joe’s unless you buy them in bulk from Amazon.

Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Cornbread Mix

I LOVE LOVE LOVE Cornbread! Yes I am from the Midwest and we have corn as an I.V according to my Texas friends

When I became gluten intolerant I was okay giving up bread, but corn bread was one of my favorite things. Up until my sister found this brand, I was so disappointed by every other brand I tried and had not ventured to make my own. I fell in love with this one and can demolish a batch in no time at all if given the opportunity.

Chia Seeds

Chia seeds make my breakfast oats super deeeelicious!!

You can buy chia seeds just about anywhere, but they are readily available on Amazon, I find them in bulk at Costco… BUT watch out if you are traveling home with them… both times I brought a package back I had a disaster!

#1 I placed the bag in my carry on and got stopped by security after going through the machine because they thought it was a drug… yeah I felt AWESOME… and my Mom was there to witness the whole thing, proud mother I am sure.

#2 I placed the bag in my checked luggage and when I unzipped my bag seeds went everywhere, for a moment I forgot that the bag was in there and I literally thought it was a ton of rat or mice terds… imagine my shock!! To this day I still find seeds in my clothes I pack in that bag 🙂

Green Tea with Pom

I gave up coffee and am now addicted to tea... could be worse 😉

Mandarin Orange Spice Tea

Favoritest non-green tea

I have at least one cup of tea a day… I really do feel like if I get at least a little work out in the morning and a cup of tea that I don’t need coffee to rock my day 🙂

 

That’s it for now… pretty sure I will have plenty more to add next Wednesday!! Enjoy and have a great day!

 

 

4 responses »

  1. Courtney Vencel

    You are awesome girl!! Lovin your posts!!

    Reply
    • Thanks for following my blog… it is definitely a work in progress. How is your friend doing that found out she was gluten intolerant a while back?

      Reply
  2. Hey girlie! I like to follow this blog! It’s great to see you share the gluten-free news and events in your life!! I was going to ask if you have tried Pamela’s brand corn bread and muffin mix yet? I think it puts Bob’s Red Mill to shame! It has become my favorite corn bread mix yet! Just thought I’d pass that along…I hope you girls are doing well!!! 🙂

    Reply
    • Just placed an order so I could try some. I know I loved another one of Pamela’s mixes, so I am definitely going to take your word on the excellence of the cornbread mix. I appreciate you sharing that tip! Hope all is well with you! School is almost done for me 🙂 Take care and feel free to share other gluten tips with us… I might have you guest blog if you would be ok with that??

      Reply

Leave a Reply

